Easy 30 Minute Vegan Yellow Curry

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset


 

Gosh, I love curry. And when I say I love curry, I mean I really love curry. Do you ever wake up in the morning and think, “Dang, some curry sounds good right about now?” Ok, maybe I don’t think this when I wake up for my 6 AM workouts, but it definitely crosses my mind before lunchtime.

I’m visiting my sister in San Fransisco for the weekend which means I luckily have full access to a real live kitchen, a.k.a one step up from my appliance-heaven dorm room. Cha-ching!  My first order of business? Make some lovely curry, of course!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I love curry because it’s really flavorful, packs a bit of spice (especially thai curry) and is full of very healthy ingredients of you know how to cook it right. Oh, and did I mention it’s also super simple and quick to make? My recipe only took me 30 minutes to whip together and made more than enough to serve my sister, her fiance Cassidy and me (we each had two servings, I must admit…). This recipe is also filled with healthy fixes like turmeric, the God-sent spice, organic un-processed and zero additives coconut milk and lots of veggies. Furthermore, this recipe is super adaptable to match whatever veggies you have on hand. My sister’s fridge was filled with zucchini, carrots and collard greens (I’m so proud of her) so that’s what I used, but don’t be afraid to add other veggies you may have stacked in your fridge!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I also used this snazzy Thai Curry Sauce I found at Trader Joe’s for only $2.99 a bottle. It provided a great flavor without the added MSG a lot of other curry sauces and pastes provide. It does have a lot of sodium like most curry sauces, so I limited the sodium I added in the stew. Here’s the gist:

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, diced- prices will vary
  • 4 cloves garlic, diced- prices will vary
  • About 1 knob ginger, diced (add more if you like strong ginger flavor)- prices will vary
  • 1 Tbs organic extra virgin coconut oil- $5.99, 16 oz jar @ Trader Joe’s
  • 2 Tbs of turmeric powder- $1.99, jar @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1 tsp salt- 99 cents, bottle @ 99 cent store
  • 2 Tbs honey- $3.69, 12 oz bottle @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1 14 oz organic can full-fat coconut milk- $1.99, can @ Trader Joe’s
  • 14 oz unsweetened almond milk- $2.99, half gallon carton @ Trader Joe’s
  • 2-3 medium size yams, cubed- prices will vary
  • 3 cups low sodium vegetable broth- $1.99, 4 cup carton @ Trader Joe’s
  • Any veggies in your fridge (about 2-3 cups). I used three zuchinnis, about 1 cup chopped carrots and 1 cup packed collard greens- prices will vary
  • 1 Tbs ground flaxseed mixed with 1 Tbs water- $2.39, 16 oz bag @ Trader Joe’s

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Directions

  1. Put oil in a big pot on medium and add onion, garlic and ginger. Cook for a few minutes stirring occasionally.
  2. Combine salt, turmeric powder, curry sauce and honey. Cook for a few minutes stirring occasionally.
  3. Combine coconut milk, almond milk and vegetable broth and let simmer for a few minutes stirring occasionally.
  4. Combine yams and let cook in mixture until yams are softened.
  5. Remove curry from stove and let cool for about five minutes.
  6. Combine as much curry as possible into blender and pulse for about six, 10 second intervals. Not blending all the curry leaves some chunks of yam left for texture.
  7. Place blended curry back into big pot with not blended curry and put back on stove under medium heat.
  8. Throw in all chopped veggies and ground flax seed mix and simmer until all veggies are soft (the ground flax seed will help to thicken the mixture like cornstarch, but if you prefer more soupy curry then omit the flax seed).
  9. Serve over quinoa or brown rice if you choose and enjoy!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Yup, that’s all! My sister and Cassidy loved the curry, hence our two servings each, which is great because this recipe makes a lot of leftovers. Happy Saturday cooking, all!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

To health infinity and beyond!

 

One thought on “Easy 30 Minute Vegan Yellow Curry

Leave a Reply

