Five Minute Black Bean Hummus

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset


 

For being such a huge hummus believer, it’s a real shocker how long it’s taken me to post one of my hummus recipes. My most common hummus consumption method is using it as a salad dressing replacer, which is genius by the way because it really complements all the veggies on my plate and adds an extra kick of flavor to any kind of protein I may choose to throw into the mix.

IMG_3699

Hummus is one of the best condiments out there because it’s loaded with lots of protein and healthy fats. One cup of black beans, for example, has a whopping 15 grams of protein! And throw that in with some extra virgin olive oil, bam! It’s a great way to get your body’s necessary healthy fat intake while coupling it with lots of muscle-building protein and fiber. And you really can’t go wrong with a  little lemon or lime juice and garlic for an added burst of flavor. You can easily interchangeably use black beans, chickpeas (the beans typically used to make hummus) or even edamame when making hummus, which makes it really easily to acclimate this recipe to match whatever you may have in your pantry.

Another thing to note is that hummus typically contains tahini, or ground-up sesame seeds. I personally have not found a place near me at sells tahini for less than $8 a 12 oz container, and that’s just too much for me to spend on a single ingredient that doesn’t have too much essential nutritional value (sorry, sesame seeds). So with that being said, my recipe doesn’t call for tahini, but you’re more than welcomed to swap a Tbs of olive oil for tahini if you happen to have it on hand! Ok, this black bean hummus is ready to take launch. Here’s the gist:

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Ingredients:

  • 1 15 oz. can black beans (drained and patted dry)- 89 cents @ Trader Joe’s
  • 3 Tbs extra virgin olive oil (can sub one Tbs for tahini)- $3.99 16 oz. bottle @ Stater Bros
  • Juice from 2 lemons- prices will vary (I got mine at my local farmer’s market)
  • 1 tsp cumin spice- 99 cents, bottle @ 99 Cents Store
  • 1 tsp ground ginger- $1.99, 12 oz bottle @ Trader Joe’s
  • Salt and pepper to taste- 99 cents, bottle each @ 99 Cents Store
  • 1 tsp chili powder (optional if you don’t like spicy)- 99 cents, bottle @ 99 Cent Store

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients into a high powder blending food processor (this is the one I have and it works really well).
  2. Pulse and scrape sides until all ingredients is evenly incorporated.
  3. Serve and enjoy!

Yup, it’s that simple people. It was funny when I told my roommate that I was going to make hummus and she got very surprised and said, “What? How the heck are you going to make that isn’t it hard??” But really, it’s so so easy and the ingredients are so cheap! I have a hard time buying my own hummus at the store when I know how easy it is to make your own at home if you have the ingredients handy. This recipe will last me a good 2 weeks minimum and costed me less than $2 since I already had the oil and spices. And I’m sure if you’re a regular cooker you will have those ingredients on hand as well! Here are some of my favorite things to pair with hummus:

  • Salad
  • Raw veggies (broccoli, carrots, celery, cucumbers, bell peppers, cauliflower)
  • Gluten-free crackers- $1.69, box @ Trader Joe’s
  • Grilled chicken breast

So please promise me to never buy commercial hummus again unless it’s for a really good reason. A lot of commercial hummuses also have added preservatives and lots of sodium, so making your own not only saves you money but also saves you from the unknown of all that is processed foods. Gross right?? Well what are you waiting for, get cooking!

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

To health infinity and beyond!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Black Bean Hummus

Leave a Reply

