5 Ingredient Matcha Moringa Waffles

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


Waffles are my go-to meal when I’m in need for something hearty but am not willing to sacrifice a clean diet. And these Matcha Moringa waffles are the perfect exception to that. Praise God for all things paleo breakfast foods!!

You’re probably wondering what the heck is moringa, because I have to confess I had no clue it existed until a bag of moringa powder went on sale at Sprouts haha. But now that I’ve found it, I don’t see how I can ever part from it! For starters, this shrub of a plant is loaaaaded with antioxidants (just like matcha and berries), anti inflammatories, amino acids and vitamins A, B and C. It’s also vegan, a great source of plant protein and carries a really beautiful, rich green color without a strong “veggie” flavor (for those of you who are scared of bitter plant foods). The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) even states that all parts of this plant are edible, which I think is really cool. I came across this really cool moringa-loving site called The Healthy Leaf while doing research on the plant and I really suggest that you check it out for more information!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This is the bag of powder I found at Sprouts Farmer’s Market for just $7.89. I honestly can’t remember the original price, but after researching other places that sell moringa powder I’ve come to realize that I got a pretty sweet deal. Plus it’s organic; how can you go wrong with that?!

I knew I had to start incorporating this powder into my daily diet, and then it hit me to switch up my normal matcha waffle routine by adding some of this as well. Best. Decision. Everrrr!

Just a recap of my Vegan Matcha Green Tea Latte post, matcha powder is extremely good for you (big antioxidant provider and metabolism booster), but it does have a downside… it’s kind of expensive for the good stuff. But trust me it’s so so worth the investment especially if you pair it with other amazing ingredients like the moringa plant! Ready to see how these two powerhouse ingredients can meet? Here’s the gist:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs- $3.49, 1 dozen cage-free eggs @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup coconut milk beverage- $2.99, 1/2 gallon @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1 Tbs organic matcha green tea powder- $19.99, 16 oz. bag @Amazon.com
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour- $2.99, 16 oz bag @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1-2 Tbs honey (if you like your waffles sweet… I personally don’t so it’s up to you)- $3.69, 12 oz. bottle @ Trader Joe’s

Directions:

  1. Whisk eggs in a small bowl and gradually incorporate coconut flour while stirring constantly.
  2. Gradually add coconut milk into mix. Make sure you stir slowly so the liquid doesn’t splash over the sides.
  3. Mix in both powders and honey (if you’re adding some) into the mix. If you need to add more coconut milk depending on the consistancy, do so now.
  4. Scoop about 1/3 cup of batter into waffle maker, cook for 2-3 minutes per waffle, serve and enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I omitted the honey in the mix but I added some as a “syrup” topping afterwards (it was delicious). Here are some other topping suggestions that pair great with these babies:

  • Golgi berries
  • Hemp seeds
  • Cacao nibs
  • Granola (if not paleo)

Feel free to experiment with your sweetness level because these don’t come very sweet on their own, just a heads up. But other than that, get ready to have your antioxidant socks blown off with these beautifully green and rich waffles!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

To health infinity and beyond!

 

 

Leave a Reply

