Easy Vegan French Toast

My dorm room is an appliance haven. I don’t know how it happened, but to my pleasant surprise my suite living room ended up becoming the home of a griddle, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, blender, waffle maker, food processor, toaster and even an air-popped popcorn making machine. Now why wouldn’t you find an excuse to cook with all that temptation sitting around? Due to my limiting 10 meals-a-week meal plan, I have managed to find ways to feed my always-hungry runner’s tummy with wholesome, tasty foods while maintaining my tiny budget. This recipe is one of my favorites.

Breakfast

I happened to stumble upon this recipe on The Minimalist Baker, one of my all-time favorite bloggers, on one of my many Pinterest binge sprees and have been hooked on these bad boys ever since. This recipe is not only vegan but is simple, requires easy, wholesome and budget-friendly ingredients and is even my-boyfriend’s-tastebuds approved (which is harder to accomplish than you’d think). Plus the topping options are endless! I added a few of my favorites below, but stay tuned for my amazing homemade nut butter recipes.

Here’s the gist:

Ingredients-

  • 1 Tbs chia seeds- $4.99/ .5 lb @ Trader Joe’s
  • 1/2 Tbs agave nectar or honey if not vegan (more or less or even optional if you’re not too into sweetness)- $2.69/ 11.75 oz bottle @ Trader Joe’s (I used to buy from Costco, but stay tuned for a latter post as to why I no longer do so)
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (I used organic almond milk)- $1.99/ box organic almond milk @ Target
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon- 99 cents/ 6 oz jar @ 99 cent store
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract- $2.14/ 2 oz jar @ Target
  • 4-5 slices of bread (I used plain Ezekiel sprouted bread but any bread works well)- $3.69/ loaf @ Trader Joe’s (For a gluten-free version, you can use Brown Rice bread but it will be a little more expensive- $4.99/ loaf @ Trader Joes)
  • 1/2-1 Tbs unsweetened coconut flakes- about $3/ bag @ Walmart
  • 1 Tbs coconut oil (for pan)- $5.99/ 16 oz jar @ Trader Joes

Directions-

  1. Mix all ingredients except bread in a large bowl. Place in the fridge for 10-20 minutes to allow chia seeds to soak up liquid mixture.
  2. Preheat griddle to medium heat (about 350 degrees) and grease with coconut oil.
  3. Dip each slice of bread in batter, about 15-60 seconds on each side. Sandwich-style breads: 15-20 seconds. Thicker breads: 35-60 seconds.
  4. Place on griddle and cook until golden brown on the underside. Carefully flip and cook until the other side is nice and golden (about  3-4 minutes each side).

Optional toppings-

  • Chunky chia & flax seed peanut butter- $2.99/ jar @ Trader Joe’s
  • Pumpkin butter- $2.29/ jar (seasonal product) @Trader Joe’s
  • Homemade sunflower butter- $1/ 4 oz jar
  • Shelled hemp seeds- $11.99/ 1 lb bag @ Amazon.com
  • Homemade black bean dark chocolate macadamia nut butter- $5.50/ 6-8 oz jar
  • Frozen berries mix- $2.99/ bag @ Trader Joe’s
  • Fresh fruit of any kind- prices will vary (I like to use bananas with everything because of their extremely high level of health benefits and penny-saving price)

Bare with me while I improve my food photography skills, but I promise no photo could really do these babies the credit they deserve!

IMG_6592

To health infinity and beyond!

Leave a Reply

